Living a balanced life. (Self-Care Series)

balance

I’ve shared my deep desire to live a balanced life several times here on my blog. What that means to me is for all parts of my life to be in a quiet state of healthy balance.  The good bits and naughty ones too. Because we all need to be naughty sometimes!

I want my physical, mental, emotional and spiritual pieces to flow peacefully with each other.

Yup.

That’s the end goal. Now how am I getting to this place of chill??

Well, it’s not easy. There is no guide to finding a peaceful flow. 😉

You’d think to be chill and totally at peace you’d get there by doing nothing but being…well….chill. But that’s not how it works.

The first step is to listen to your inner voice. It’s awesome to connect with other people and learn about there journey. Self help books rock for exposing you to knew ideas. Reading blogs (thank you!) and online articles can take you to places you didn’t know about. But when all is said and done you have to do what works for you. You have to find that thing (or things) that click in your mind and just make sense to YOU.  Don’t be afraid to try anything that speaks to you, but also know that it’s ok if what works for someone else doesn’t work for you. This is YOUR journey. Own it.

So what am I doing?

I’ve completely changed my diet. I found out through trial and error (much much much error) that I was not eating enough.  I couldn’t believe that by upping my calories by 200-400 a day I’d start to lose weight. It’s not easy to up your calories when the upping is all based in healthy foods. Let me at a bag of tortilla chips and I’ll not only raise my calories by 400, I’ll double down!  But when you’re filling up on things like healthy carbs, lean protein and more veggies than you can shake a stick at…it takes a lot of thought and again…trial and error. It’s working and I feel sooooo much better.

I’m meditating every day. I’m never quite sure why I stop meditating. This along with Yoga are the two most beneficial things I can do for my mental health.  Simply sitting for 5 minutes at a time focusing on my breath is calming and leaves me with focus and  clarity and a feeling of beautiful balance.

Yoga baby….Yoga. I am a major fan of Yoga with Adrienne. Her You Tube channel is my go to for yoga practice. I can’t even begin to tell you how much yoga helps me. It makes me feel strong and confident. It gives me hope that all the aches and pains from years of not exercising (and getting older) will eventually heal. This in itself brings me peace. But the pay off with yoga is instantaneous. It’s like your body knows that each move is designed to make it work in the most fluid way and it’s thankful from the first moment. Even if you’ve never tried yoga…check her out. She’s amazing.

I’m working through some baggage.  I’m making peace with some things but more importantly I’m learning how to deal with things in a more productive way. I’m owning my shit. I’m gathering all the little broken pieces inside myself and I’m healing them. One at a time. Day by day.

Each one of these practices and several others are bringing me closer to that peaceful place of balance.

It’s a long journey and in all honesty, I’m not sure I’ll ever get to a place of perfect peace.  But that’s not really the point. The point is to get to a place of balance. Life is never going to stop happening around me. I can’t control that. But what living a balanced life can do is help me navigate those yucky moments life will certainly throw at me. The hope is to have so much good energy banked that I can spare some every now and then without really feeling the hit. I can deal with the yuck….without losing my peaceful flow.

That’s the goal.

Do you have any daily habits or practices that are helping you live a balanced life? Share them below!

Thanks for Reading!

39 thoughts on “Living a balanced life. (Self-Care Series)

  1. Posso simplesmente dizer o que um conforto descobrir
    alguém que realmente sabe o que eles estão discutindo
    on-line . Você na verdade sabe como trazer um problema para acender e torná-la
    importante. Mais pessoas tem que saca só e compreender este lado
    da história. Fiquei surpreso você não é mais popular dado que você certamente tem o dom.

    Like

  2. Cheap briefs briefs, Buy Quality modal lingerie directly from China
    waist hkgh Suppliers: MUNAFIE ladies seamless high waist abdomjen hip sculpting underwear briefs Modal lace lingerie boutique
    modal lingerie

    Like

  3. It’s enough for making a person go all Janet Napolitano (hmo’s Secretary
    of Homeland Security. Since I was nicknamed Darth Vader at school on account of my
    unfortunate helmet-shaped hair at any time, I picked the bad side.

    Like

  4. Have you ever considered creating an e-book or guest authoring on other blogs?
    I have a blog based upon on the same information you discuss
    and would really like to have you share some stories/information. I know my viewers would value your work.
    If you’re even remotely interested, feel
    free to send me an e-mail.

    Like

  5. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to this
    fantastic blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to
    my Google account. I look forward to fresh updates
    and will talk about this blog with my Facebook group. Chat soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

